If you have earned excessive points or are convicted of certain traffic offenses in the State of New Jersey, such as driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving without insurance, in addition to paying court fines and penalties you are required to pay surcharges. Surcharges are fines assessed by the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS). N.J.S.A. 17:29A-35 is the New Jersey statute that mandates these surcharges.
Convictions for DWI, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, or Refusal, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4 carry surcharges of $1,000.00 per year for three years for the first and second offenses. If a third offense occurs within three years of the first offense, the surcharge is increased to $1,500.00 a year for three years.
If you have accrued six or more points for moving violations within a three-year period, a yearly motor vehicle surcharge of $150 for the first six points and $25 for each additional point will be assessed. The yearly surcharge applies each year the individual has six or more points on their record.
A conviction for driving without a license results in a $100.00 a year surcharge for three years. Convictions for driving while suspended or operating an uninsured vehicle result in a $250 surcharge over three years.
To avoid New Jersey’s excessive surcharges, consult an experienced traffic violation attorney at theWolf Law. We have successfully defended thousands of traffic offenses throughout the State of New Jersey. Call (732) 741-4448 today for a free consultation.