A conviction for possession or distribution of heroin carries harsh consequences in New Jersey. Penalties may include fines, prison time, suspension or revocation of a driver’s license, and mandatory drug counseling.
If you have been arrested for distributing or possessing heroin, it is extremely important that you contact a defense attorney with knowledge of New Jersey’s heroin laws. The attorneys at Wolf Law have been handling heroin and other criminal charges in New Jersey for nearly 30 years. We have the knowledge necessary to get your possession or possession with intent to distribute charges reduced or eliminated altogether.
In the State of New Jersey, possession, use or being under the influence of heroin is a third-degree crime. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10, a person who has possessed heroin, no matter how small the amount, is guilty of a third-degree crime. Penalties include imprisonment for up to five years and a fine of up to $35,000.00 in addition to a mandatory six-month loss of your driver’s license.
If you are found guilty of possessing with intent to distribute heroin, the grading and penalties will increase, depending on the amount of heroin possessed. If you possess five or more ounces of heroin, you will be charged with a first-degree crime. Penalties include 10 to 20 years in prison as well as a fine of up to $500,000.00. If you possess less than five ounces but more than one-half of an ounce of heroin, you will be charged with a second-degree crime. If convicted, penalties include five to ten years in jail. If you are found possessing less than one-half of an ounce of heroin, you will face a third-degree crime. Penalties include up to five years in prison as well as a fine of up to $75,000.00. Penalties for any of the above offense will increase if you are found guilty of possession of heroin with the intent to distribute in a school zone.
If you have been arrested or charged with heroin possession or selling heroin, contact Wolf Law today for a free consultation at (732) 741-4448.