If you have been charged with possession of meth, heroin, or ecstasy in New Jersey, you need New Jersey’s criminal defense attorneys at Wolf Law to represent you. With 25 years experience in criminal defense, he has the knowledge to defend your drug charges at every stage.
Under the Influence of Methamphetamine Charges
If you are accused of being under the influence of methamphetamine, heroin or esctasy, you face a disorderly persons’ charge. An individual facing a disorderly persons’ charge may be subject to up to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, community service, and probation.
NJ Methamphetamine Possession and Distribution Crimes
In the state of New Jersey, possession of methamphetamine (meth) can be a second or third degree crime. Your possible charges depend on the quantity of meth you possessed, the location of the possession (if it was in a school zone, penalties are greater), and whether the drugs were intended for personal use or whether you had the intent to distribute.
If you are caught with a large amount of meth, you may be charged with possession with intent to distribute. Individuals who are convicted of possession of methamphetamine as a third degree crime may face up to 5 years in jail and a fine up to $15,000.
Individuals facing methamphetamine possession with the intent to distribute charges are subject to first, second, or third degree crime (depending upon the quantities involved) and anywhere from 3 to 20 years in jail and fines up to $300,000.
NJ Heroin Possession and Distribution Crimes
The penalties for a NJ Heroin possession and distribution charge are significant, including a jail term, heavy fines, loss of driver’s license, and probation and drug treatment. A person accused of possession of heroin (a third degree crime) may face up to 5 years in prison and fines up to $35,000. Depending on the quantity of heroin in possession, individuals facing possession with the intent to distribute may be subject to a first, second or third degree crime with 5-20 years in prison and fines up to $500,000.
NJ Ecstasy Possession and Distribution Crimes
Like other street drugs, New Jersey is strict on ecstasy possession crimes. An individual facing ecstasy possession and distribution charges may be sentenced to 3 to 20 years in jail and heavy fines. Depending on the amount of ecstasy in possession, a person may be accused of a first, second, or third degree crime.
Enhanced Penalties for School Zones and Public Places
If you are in possession of meth, heroin, or ecstasy within 1000 feet of a school zone (school property or school bus) or 500 feet of a public housing project, public park, or public building in NJ, you may face enhanced penalties with a longer jail term and larger fines. You may also face a minimum term of confinement in jail before being eligible for parole.
If you or someone you know is facing charges for meth, heroin, or ecstasy possession or possession with the intent to distribute, call Wolf Law today to find out how we can work to get your drug charges reduced or even dismissed.